• Hey, guest user. Hope you're enjoying NeoGAF! Have you considered registering for an account? Come join us and add your take to the daily discourse.

Apple CEO Tim Cook: 'I Don't Think a Four-Year Degree is Necessary to Be Proficient at Coding'

oagboghi2

I'm a react developer. No CS degree. It can be done.

Hard as hell though. I will probably get a masters in CS in the future, just to improve my general skills

And yet every single developer job currently advertised at Apple require a BS or MS degree.

:pie_eyeroll:
Those aren't real requirements. They are there to weed out applicants.

I know for a fact their are people at Apple who don't have a degree. Same as with google.

If you are interested, network on linkedIn and apply

Last edited:

hivsteak

Then what good is your HTML degree if there's nearly no openings outside a few rare ones here and there? That's a simple example even you can follow.
I can’t speak for every college, but the one I went to was 5 classes per semester. Thats 40 classes over 4 years. There are strict degree requirements that include much more than the topic/field stated on your degree. If a student is getting an HTML degree, which is purely an example you’ve given and not a real degeee, they’re also taking general education courses, math, writing, CSS, and computer science courses. They aren’t just learning HTML. They’re getting a well rounded education.

the biggest issues is that your college degree and education has to focus around a safe bet. If you get a Gender studies or basketweaving degree your basically screwed unless you happen to have gotten your degree at a time some companies were actually hiring for those but those categories aren't ever in high-demand so having millions in "gender studies" classes will inevitably screw most of the people involved over.