• Hey, guest user. Hope you're enjoying NeoGAF! Have you considered registering for an account? Come join us and add your take to the daily discourse.

Do you have a favorite game never released outside of Japan?

German Hops

GAF's Nicest Lunch Thief
So, I started playing Wachenröder. It’s a late-Saturn, turn-based strategy RPG with a lot of heavyweight talent:

・Art by Range Murata (Blue Sub. 6, Spy Fiction)
・MORE art by Yoshitoshi Abe (Serial Experiments Lain)
・Character designs by Katsumi Yokota (Panzer Dragoon series)
・Compositions by Ian McDonald (King Crimson, Foreigner)

iaGtA8g.gif

BUT IT WAS NEVER RELEASED IN THE WEST!!

Nevertheless, Oh… man I kind of love this game. I was supposed to sell it a few days ago, but sat down to test it and was playing for an hour. It’s a very interesting mishmash of gameplay systems and visuals, with the standout being the 2D art and sound – maybe the UI as well if you’re into that. This is not Ogre Battle, though. I do want to play a bit more into the story just to uncover the world, but Wachenroder still remains one of my favorite Japan-only titles.

My second choice would be Valkyria Chronicles 3 for PSP. They released all the other ones except for this one because of the underwhelming Western sales of Valkyria Chronicles 2, also for the PSP. What a travesty .:pie_neutral:

Valkyria-Chronicles-3-Cover-Art-JP.jpg

The third thing that comes to mind is Front Mission 2. I think the physical copies were only released in Japan. All the voiced dialogue is in Japanese with English subtitles. Front Mission is a great series of srpg's, yet we've only seen half of the games release outside of Japan, with the better entries (2 & 5) being skipped over.
And of the Front Mission games we did receive, one of them was. . . Left Alive, one of the worst games on EVAR! :messenger_pouting:

148267-front-mission-2-playstation-front-cover.jpg

So, what are you favorite Japan exclusive games?

anthony2690

Banned