• Hey, guest user. Hope you're enjoying NeoGAF! Have you considered registering for an account? Come join us and add your take to the daily discourse.

GAF Critique-Age: Because writing a novel gets the girls

Status
Not open for further replies.

Feep

Banned
Hi, GAF. I have a favor to ask!

I've been writing a novel for around seven months now, and just all like the fat wannabe Tolkien's out there, it's fantasy (albeit, far removed from all that dragon-and-dwarves nonsense). I just finished Chapter 17 (out of 40), but hell, the opener is where readers are won or lost. So, if you're exceptionally bored, take a look at yon Chapter the First and tell me what you think. Or post pictures of funny animals. Or both. Your call.

Thanks!

“Civil unrest reported.”

Naia hated that voice.

“Location confirmed at Korran Terrace, threat level moderate. All available personnel to deploy within twelve minutes.”

The echo of the alarm rattled through sickbay, further agitating the headache that had persisted throughout the day. She shut her eyes, grinding her teeth. It was the third deployment in less than thirty-six hours, but there was very little she could do. She was a soldier. Soldiers do as they’re told.

She abandoned the promise of a lightshock and raced down the metal corridors to her barracks. A rookie could easily lose themselves in these cold, industrial hallways, with only the ever-present arcs of harsh electricity above to guide them. Not her: most of her childhood was set on this backdrop of cold iron, and the days had long past where navigation was anything but trivial.