• Hey, guest user. Hope you're enjoying NeoGAF! Have you considered registering for an account? Come join us and add your take to the daily discourse.

GAF- Help me buy a digicam

Status
Not open for further replies.

Pachinko

I"m going to buy a digital camera for my japan trip in a weeks time. I want something middle ranged, don't need a top of the line 5.0 megapixel juggernaught. I'm no proffesional photographer and I don't need to pretend I am.

So I have a bestbuy gift card I got at Xmas that I intend to use to buy this thing with, I live in canada so any money amount that I list will be in canadian dollars.

Any advice as to what I should buy on top of the camera itself is also much appreciated, I'd planned on buying atleast 1 extra memory cartridge to store more pictures and I've read about docking bays or something... My total price limit on everything is possibly 350 $ , no more then 400 though and that's with tax. Thanks guys.

Saturnman

Banned
Depends on a couple of things. Do you own some portable devices like MP3 players or perhaps another digicam? It's important because they use memory cards and you can perhaps recycle whatever memory card format they use with your new camera and save some money that way.

It also depends on what you will take pictures of. If it is just people, flowers and indoor shots, then any general use camera that is for you.

Off the top of my head, you can consider the Canon PowerShot A70. It's a 3-megapixel camera, is very well liked and it has a whole host of settings and manual controls, just in case you grow tired of its automatic mode at some point and decide to learn more about photography. It's possible you will find its successor the A75, but I insist you look for the A70, it's practically the same camera and you can get it for at least a $100 cheaper.

706224_125.jpg