• Hey, guest user. Hope you're enjoying NeoGAF! Have you considered registering for an account? Come join us and add your take to the daily discourse.

Happy Thanksgiving! What are your plans?

Happy Turkey Day to all, even the non-americans!

Got up at 3am to finish prepping Bird One. Tossed him on the smoker at 4am. Whew, quite stressful. Im responsible for the two turkeys today, one for my side of fam and one for my wifes side. Im smoking both of them on a big green egg, annnnd its my first time smoking, let alone using the big green egg. Did a 24 hr brine and injection. Using some pecan and hickory wood chunks. I guess we’ll see how it goes...Hoping to put Bird Two on around 8am.

I want to go back to bed but am so nervous the bge’s temp isnt steady.

Whats everyones plans today?

Enjoy the day off folks!

Last edited:

highrider

Banned
I’m going to eat with family. I’m a chef so thankful to get a break from cooking this year, I’ve slowly taught my family how to properly prepare a turkey.

As a public service, smoking and deep frying are ok but if you want a delicious turkey I highly recommend using this technique in the future, and remember resting is key. Also take a moment on YouTube and learn how to properly carve a turkey, many drop the ball there. Same with gravy, this video also shows proper gravy technique.

#Phonepunk#

Banned
Happy Thanksgiving!

this year is weird. mom's side opted to do a get together on Saturday, dad's side (me, my brothers, and dad) decided to skip it entirely. we may meet up tomorrow to eat some food but not a huge get together. one of my brothers is about to have a baby, so this is the main reason we are keeping that time open.

so i'm just chilling home alone all day. will probably smoke and play videogames. might finally beat Red Dead Redemption 1. then later some booze MST3K/rifftrax.

Heimdall_Xtreme

Jim Ryan Fanclub's #1 Member
Not celebrated here in my country, so im working today like a normal day.