• Hey, guest user. Hope you're enjoying NeoGAF! Have you considered registering for an account? Come join us and add your take to the daily discourse.

How safe or secure is your Job/Career today?

Hip Hop

Seeing news about layoffs,

how do you feel about your job or career, Do you think you are safe from layoffs? Do you feel secure about it?

And all these things about the economy and how that could affect some jobs in the future.

In my line of work and sector and it being a union job, I feel safe so far from my job being cut in the near long term but still hoping for the best because nothing is ever safe.

How do you feel?

NecrosaroIII

Ask me about my terrible takes on Star Trek characters
I used to think I was safe, but after 30 minutes of fucking around with ChatGPT, I think I'll be out of a career in 5 to 10 years.

I work as a logistics planner.

Probably almost all jobs are going to be handled by AI in the not so distant future. It's going to be grim and sad, and we're gonna have to see society adapt hard. Universal Income will have to become required, and we're going to have to rethink our thought processes when it comes to work. Because eventually there just won't be a need to hire people for a lot of stuff. You'd be hiring people just to hire people

Last edited:

StreetsofBeige

Gold Member
Safe. Been at my company for over 10 years. Finance role. Even if I get fired one day, I'll just work somewhere else. Every company needs finance people.

A great career if you like numbers and analysis. And a very steady job because most people at companies either hate numbers, are bad at numbers, are terrible at using ERP programs, and cant build a spreadsheet and analyze it if their life depended on it.