• Hey, guest user. Hope you're enjoying NeoGAF! Have you considered registering for an account? Come join us and add your take to the daily discourse.

I started playing Ni no Kuni 2 and so far I'm disappointed. Anyone here play it?

LiquidMetal14

hide your water-based mammals
Yes I actually liked it. Put over 50 hours into it. Did have a period where I lagged behind but got over the hump. It's actually the last RPG I beat.

Psychostar

I finished it and really enjoyed it. I loved the kingdom building side stuff I had played the first one and enjoyed it but I never finished the last chapter of the first game.

This is a franchise that I have the collectors edition for both games, that being said, j was not interested in any postgame content for no no kuni 2

Punished Miku

Gold Member
I've heard really good things about it, so decided to play it after never having gotten around to it. I will say the character animations are gorgeous. Really impressed by them.

I don't know what I expected though, since I never played NnK1 yet either, but this game feels... cheap. Bland, linear dungeons that have a lot of dead ends and doors you can't open. The battle system isn't overly deep, though it isn't bad. I just thought it would be more interesting than essentially a button masher. And the world map I thought would feel like a classic old school JRPG would map, but it really doesn't. There's really nothing interesting in it, and on screen enemies are faster than you, so there's no point in running away from any of them you can't avoid because they'll catch you from behind and you'll get a surprise attack.

So far the music is terrible, and for some reason only like 10% of the dialogue so far is voice acted. I don't know what that's about.

Anyway, I don't think it's bad. But it has like an 85ish on metacritic, so I was expecting an instant classic, but this feels very run of the mill.