• Hey, guest user. Hope you're enjoying NeoGAF! Have you considered registering for an account? Come join us and add your take to the daily discourse.

iBuyPower- My Last Hope?

Velius

Banned
I love building my own rig, I've been doing it since 1998, ever since I put my first VooDoo into a motherboard I've been in love with it.

An RTX 3090 GigaByte Aorus is $3999.99 on Ebay. I fucking hate scalpers. I fucking hate crypto-miners, I hope they all choke on their braces but not really anything to be done about the current situation except play smart.

Resident Evil VIII is coming up next month- the plan is to wait to see if it's really as good as everyone is hoping, but I loved VII and assuming this follow up nails it, I'm looking to upgrade. iBuyPower has rigs that you can customize, and I'm looking at a build that seems very attractive to me.

I need your help, Gaffers. I'm posing a few questions:

1) Is the build I'm proposing (linked below) the optimum build for gaming? If not, can you please give me pointers on how to improve? Assume there is no budget, although I of course want to be cost effective.
2) Why does the iBuyPower metric indicate that the Ryzen 7 5800x provides better performance than the i9 and even the threadrippers? Take a look at the expected performance for CyberPunk (another game I want to play at max settings).
3) Should I do AIO cooling or a tube/reservoir kit?

4) Finally, can you help me formulate a plan so that I can run these next gen games with respectable settings at 60+ fps? I am looking into all of this but I get seriously conflicting reports from various sources.

Stats:
Case :: Thermaltake Suppressor F31 Tempered Glass Gaming Case
Case Fans :: 3x [ARGB] Thermaltake Pure 12 ARGB Sync Radiator Fan TT Premium Edition 120mm Fan
Processor :: AMD Ryzen 7 5800X Processor (8X 3.8GHz/32MB L3 Cache)
Processor Cooling :: Thermaltake Water 3.0 360 ARGB Sync Edition RGB Liquid Cooling System