• Hey, guest user. Hope you're enjoying NeoGAF! Have you considered registering for an account? Come join us and add your take to the daily discourse.

META'S VR efforts cost them 10BN last year

fart town usa

Gold Member
Yes, like every other PC VR headset. Only this also works by itself with different games, and is also a fraction of the price.
Nice, I'm new to VR so still not quite up to speed on how the PC compatible headsets work. I was strongly considering getting the Quest 2 the other month but just don't have a powerful enough PC to really take advantage of its potential. Went with PSVR instead. I think it's effing hilarious that this thing uses the PS3 Move Controllers.

RiccochetJ

Gold Member
They are trying to chase the dream of Ready Player One.

The problem is they don't have the ideal hardware to pull it off, everything right now is beta.
We need extremely high graphics, fidelity and latency, remove every form of hardware resistance such as wireless, weight the size of glasses, and accurate tracking.
So far everything VR produced is clunky it's like comparing a modern recent iPad to a desktop from 1995.
They explicitly laid out in prior investor calls that this is a 10 year investment/project. What improvements in VR do you think will have been made over the course of 10 years and billions in development by all these different companies?

NickFire

I don't want to diss the headset because its pretty neat tech for a decent price. But I am very happy I didn't get sucked in and buy one last month after reading this. I want nothing to do with social media already, and if they're taking those kind of losses I have to assume they're only pushing this for Facebook (or Meta, whatever) social media VR. No thank you.