• Hey, guest user. Hope you're enjoying NeoGAF! Have you considered registering for an account? Come join us and add your take to the daily discourse.

Multi Phase boss battles...cheap or fair?

So I'm a soulsborne vet...I beat every soulsborne game and dark souls 3 and bloodborne a plethora of times...but I'm playing the DLCs for the first time. This isnt a "make the game easier" post, but a post discussing the design philosophy of multiphase bosses. Now Sister Friede is considered one of the tougher bosses in the soulsborne franchises and I was excited to play her...but shes not hard because her move set...shes hard because she has 3 god damn phases and by the time you get to phase three you are low on items more than anything....this is why I hate multiphased bosses who have multiple health bars. If its like Pontiff Sulivan who switches up mid battle thats cool, but when they die and revive a whole new health bar it just feels cheap. Lothric princes have this problem too. Now back to the grind...I got to the third phase on my 10th attempt but yea...multiple phased bosses are annoying.

3qnosumqpo661.jpg

I don't know, I love "this isn't even my final form" boss fights.

It makes them more memorable.

In MGS3, the whole section with Volgin and Shagohod is poetry.
Best one is Ludwig to me...but three phases is a bit excessive...two is pushing it but still I prefer one solid phase where they transform mid battle even if they enter an invincibility mode too.

Alexios

Cores, shaders and BIOS oh my!
This isnt a "make the game easier" post
[...]
shes not hard because her move set...shes hard because she has 3 god damn phases and by the time you get to phase three you are low on items more than anything...
Guess what, this is asking to make the game easier by calling how it is cheap, lol. If it's not hard like you say, then play better so you use less items per phase...