• Hey, guest user. Hope you're enjoying NeoGAF! Have you considered registering for an account? Come join us and add your take to the daily discourse.

Old game ideas in the modern age

Guilty_AI

I started playing Daggerfall Unity recently and that made me think about how some fairly ambitious old games got held back by their times.

Daggerfall is massive, with one of the largests maps ever in games, complete with even political factions, spellmaking systems, interiors in pretty much every building and interesting takes in quest design. Unfortunately the game was held back by things such as lots of gamebreaking bugs or limitations on the procedural generation tech / hardware of the time.

Using Daggerfall unity along with other mods, we can start seeing how modern-day tech could be used to finally realize some ideas like those in much more fleshed out ways

FuTYmYY.png

2019-07-29-image-24.jpg

wofc20190731211354620jyuu.jpg

ay1mnkst0o961.png

So, do you remember any overly ambitious old game that has much better chances of being realized nowadays?

Last edited:

HL3.exe

The original STALKER 2004/2007 comes to mind. Overly ambitious AI systems with it's own ecology and memory (dubbed A-life), combined with Deus Ex style persistent and reactive world. It didn't quite work out in the end (and this before the Ubi formula took over).

But i'm curious what stalker 2 holds, even though i'm glad they halted production due to the war :(

Last edited:

Fbh

I played Through Kingdom Under Fire: The Crusaders last year and it left me really wishing we'd get a modern iteration of this type of game (that's not a grindy MMO like Kingdom Under Fire 2).

ss_6ebb63e6a690bbaf9f06f2960a9b8e155f75c416.1920x1080.jpg

Game has a lot of cool ideas, it's a combat focused RTS where you control and army divided into multiple squads, and it switches to a dynasty warriors type third person action game when your commander enters battle.