• Hey, guest user. Hope you're enjoying NeoGAF! Have you considered registering for an account? Come join us and add your take to the daily discourse.

Passive income

Banjo64

cumsessed
Wondering what side projects everyone has to make extra money?

I’m UK based.

Thinking about either;
  • Buying and letting a static caravan
  • Buying a second house/flat to rent (I’d look for a tenant where I would receive housing benefit directly).
I’ve looked at letting a canal boat, but the operating costs would be prohibitive.

Any other ideas?

Last edited:

GeekyDad

Can't imagine either would be "passive," as you'd still have to maintain the property, look after maintenance and upkeep, deal with property insurance, realtor, etc. Sounds like a fucking headache to me. And if you come upon shitty tenants, you have to deal with them. And laws protect tenants under certain circumstances, preventing you from automatic eviction.

Last edited:

sinnergy

I digital design UX/UI designer by trade and run multiple webshops / sites with my wife. In the end we want to be self employed, she started this year, she now has enough income.

Ionian

Can't imagine either would be "passive," as you'd still have to maintain the property, look after maintenance and upkeep, deal with property insurance, realtor, etc. Sounds like a fucking headache to me. And if you come upon shitty tenants, you have to deal with them. And laws protect tenants under certain circumstances, preventing you from automatic eviction.

There are 'ways' to sort that issue.

I live in the UK as well and my wife and I have three flats which we rent out.

It's not that much hassle as long as you are sensible about who you rent them too. I would never use a letting agency as they charge a fortune and don't care who they let to. Hold the interviews yourself, meet with the prospective tenants and pick decent people.