• Hey, guest user. Hope you're enjoying NeoGAF! Have you considered registering for an account? Come join us and add your take to the daily discourse.

Shmups Are The Best Genre You Don’t Play

zenspider

Absolutely do not be afraid to pick up any game from M2 that is CAVE developed.

They added super easy modes where a lot of the bullets are gone, and you’ll get essentially infinite continues. From there it has challenge modes if you wanted to keep getting better.

Either way the modes have ranked leaderboards too so you can just focus on fun and not worry you’re missing out somehow.

On PSN you could scoop up Ketsui Deathiny to give it a whirl. You can do Battle Garrega as well but that’s a Raizing game— less neon bullets and more actual bullets/bombs. Lots of ships and a stellar soundtrack.

Also games like Ikaruga are much harder IMO to overcome, unless you put it on their easy mode as well for lots of continues.
this. I’m a noob, but save the JP language barrier (Google Lens ftw) the M2 ports all have a mode where they literally walk you through the game step-by-step and let you figure out each section for survival, scoring, bees (in DDP DOJ).

I wouldn’t have recommended to a new player until I tried it myself. And yeah — thinking you need super-human reflexes to play shmups is a misunderstanding of how they play. It’s like driving a car. You’re really only relying your reflexes in emergencies. I think fighting games are way more reliant on reflexes in that regard.

Codiox

It’s an old favorite genre of mine. No bullet hell shmups which play like you’re moving in a maze, I like the old school ones where you need to react fast on enemy bullets, and I need to use a joystick.
Built an arcade cabinet for Retropie years ago with a focus on shmups.
nItyN3j.jpeg
really nice, i love the font for the buttons!

i built one myself. its inspired by the sega astro city

IMG_20231230_144617.jpg

the buttons light up depends on the in game usage.

Last edited:

SCB3