• Hey, guest user. Hope you're enjoying NeoGAF! Have you considered registering for an account? Come join us and add your take to the daily discourse.

Tales of Arise - Public Demo live in NZ now (PS5 Gameplay)

rubhen925

Hey guys, the demo is live in NZ PSN right now! Here's some info:

- Install size is - 3.63 GB
- two modes (Graphics & Performance)
- graphics mode is supposedly 4K 30FPS
- Performance is 60FPS and no info on resolution. By the looks of it, it looks like 1440p. I'm no expert at testing this, but I'm sure DF or VG tech will confirm soon. PR hasn't responded on this either.
- Can play as all 6 characters in this demo
- around 1 hour first try, but with trying everyone you'll probably get around 2-3 hours with the demo.
- loading is around 1-3 seconds depending on area transitioning, camping, and combat.
- really fluid combat with button binding.
- No in game HDR, I just turned on the HDR for my PS5 as I'm using a HDR TV. Helps with making the already colorful world even more vibrant, but it may vary for you (HDR TVs always vary)

If there's anything else I'll add it here.

PS5 Performance mode gameplay:

Full Demo with all Characters:

Update:

- There is a secret boss that shows up when you finish the final boss in the demo. I got it in my first run with Alphen, but it hasn't shown up after that. Asked other YouTubers as well. No one really knows the spawn conditions lol. If you know let me know so I can update the thread haha

Last edited:

Aion002

Seems cool! But... Lots of black screens eh...

Hopefully they will speed them up on the launch!

Also, I was hoping that they would tone down the screaming... Multiple characters screaming their magical incantations at the same time was always an annoying part from Tales of... And apparently still is.

BlakeofT

I thought I could change my location to NZ on my xbox and I'd be able to download the demo. Hasn't worked for me so far.