• Hey, guest user. Hope you're enjoying NeoGAF! Have you considered registering for an account? Come join us and add your take to the daily discourse.

Unemployment Sucks

Status
Not open for further replies.

Drey1082

I graduated in may with a good GPA from a Big Ten school with an IT (MIS) Major. I've been doing part time work down in chicago, and can't find anything in entry level IT. Too many IT people with experience are out of jobs and taking jobs with lesser pay that people like me are trying for. I want to go back to school. This sucks.

Particle Physicist

between a quark and a baryon
i have friends who graduated a year ago with computer engineering and electrical engineering degrees from a very good school and are still jobless.. or at least arent working as engineers..

it really sucks right now.

Leon

This is a reason why you should decide to become a rock star, like me. You'll never be unemployed. Only indie/underground.

Drey1082

While I do play some guitar, that does not seem to be a viable option, being as I have little talent, and no band.

Vgamer

Im in the same boat. Graduated with MIS degree last year and still no job in my field. I have had jobs since then but cant seem to get an entry level job in the field. Oh well guess I got the wrong degree :(

xsarien

daedsiluap
IT is shit because, yeah, the market is saturated with people who are qualified, and a lack of open positions. Do yourself a favor and fill out a Monster resume thoroughly. You may as well have some companies looking for you while you look for them, too.

And don't be ashamed to take an internship if you're lacking some resume fodder, if you impress the right people while you're there, you could manage a full-time gig out of it.

Drey1082

Vgamer said:
Im in the same boat. Graduated with MIS degree last year and still no job in my field. I have had jobs since then but cant seem to get an entry level job in the field. Oh well guess I got the wrong degree :(