• Hey, guest user. Hope you're enjoying NeoGAF! Have you considered registering for an account? Come join us and add your take to the daily discourse.

C programming: Could use a little help...

Status
Not open for further replies.

Vieo

I've been writing a roman numeral converter off and on for several months. I just decided today to fool around with it some more. The program works as long as the user enters the roman numeral correctly, so I'm working on a function thats supposed to handle errors when the user enters bad data. Anyway, I'm having trouble with the OR-operator ( || )

here's a segment..

void errorp(char a[])
{
int count=0;

while(a[count] != '\0'){

if(a[count] != 'I' || 'V' || 'X' || 'L' || 'C' || 'M' || 'D'){
printf("Waffles!\n");
}
count++;
}
}

See, the idea is that when you enter something that's not part of a roman numeral, you'll get the "Waffles!" message. But when I type in a valid roman numeral, I still get the waffles message. Is that not correct usage of the || operator?

When I type in something like X for example, I expect it to go... "OK, the first spot in this array isn't equal to char I, V, L, C, M, D, however, it is equal to char X, so I won't print the waffles message." but it doesn't do that. =P

darscot

void errorp(char a[])
{
int count=0;

while(a[count] != '\0')
{
char test = a[count];
if(test != 'I' && test != 'V' && test != 'X' && test != 'L' && test != 'C' && test != 'M' && test != 'D')
{
printf("Waffles!\n");
}
count++;
}
}

Not sure were my tabs went? I didnt run it but I think that will do it.

SteveMeister

Hang out with Steve.
|| needs to be separated by expressions that evaluate to true or false.

If you want to chain a bunch of conditions like that, you have to repeat the a[count] !='s each time. And in your case, you want &&'s anyway, because you don't want the value to be ANY of the ones you list.

There are more clever ways to do it, but you probably want this instead:

Code: