• Hey, guest user. Hope you're enjoying NeoGAF! Have you considered registering for an account? Come join us and add your take to the daily discourse.

Has streaming effectively "beat" piracy?

jigglet

Banned
Mods feel free to delete this if this type of discussion isn't allowed.

I was looking for some old movies that I can't find on any streaming service, so I hit up Piratebay and a few other torrents. Nothing to be found. Curiously I typed in the first thing that came to mind - The Simpsons. Other than the old 360p videos, none of the modern DVD or bluray copies can be found there.

Out of curiosity I searched for a bunch of other random movies - Aliens, Back to the Future, some modern stuff. All the old DVD rips can be found, almost zero presence of Bluray / 4k rips.

I did the same search across a bunch of other pirate sites. I'm not saying piracy is dead / defeated. But it feels to me that for the most part, it's a problem that has been solved?

I have a subscription to every major streaming service* and other than a handful of old movies I can't find, it feels like I can get everything I need without having to resort to this. I haven't looked on torrents in so long now I was completely unaware that it appears to be a thing of the past.

*Except I'm getting rid of Paramount+ soon, what on earth made those guys think they had enough content to create their own service.

Nah. Streaming made it easier to watch stuff for a while and reduced the need to pirate. Now everyone and their cat has a streaming service. Everything is fragmented and to watch everything you need to sign up to 10 different services. I bounce between Netflix, Prime, and Disney but there are more. I don't pay for those 3 all at once but just rotate between them. I'm not signing up to any more so if I need to sign up to watch your movie then forget it.