• Hey, guest user. Hope you're enjoying NeoGAF! Have you considered registering for an account? Come join us and add your take to the daily discourse.

How is World of Warcraft in terms of going 'solo'?

Vieo

I started playing EQ2 at the end of April. It's been my first real MMORPG and I've been having a ball. I've already got a level 30 dark elf paladin.

Though lately it's been becoming a pain in the ass as I have been noticing a trend. It seems going solo in this game and still managing to get your goals done is next to impossible. For example, if I get a quest that's marked level 30 to kill a monster, when I get to the monster I have to kill, there's no way I can kill it because: a)It's too high a level for me to kill. and b)It's usually grouped with other monsters that are just as tough. Then sometimes you might even have to add: c)You monster you have to kill takes three hours to spawn. So if a group killed it before you go there, you're out of luck. d)The monster you have to kill is a random spawn so you have to spend tons of time clearing an area of monsters praying that it will spawn.

When the situation above happens, like it does very often, it forces me to find a group. The only problem is I'm usually NEVER able to find a group and when I try to start one with the few people who are looking for a group, I usually get the reply "I'd rather join a full group." or something along those lines.

Practically all of the solo quests I've managed to find are crap. They aren't challenging at all and they never give you anything useful. You'll end up being rewarded with maybe a few silver coins(which I'll blow on repairing my equipment after die) or crappy equipment that is way below my level range. The way I'm feeling here is that the time you invest on a quest is never rewarded evenly.

Now, I'm not anti-social and enjoy grouping every once in a while, but this whole co-op aspect and relying on other people is REALLY killing my love for this game.