• Hey, guest user. Hope you're enjoying NeoGAF! Have you considered registering for an account? Come join us and add your take to the daily discourse.

Non-celiac Gluten Sensitivity Now Thoroughly Shown to Not Exist

Status
Not open for further replies.

nelchaar

GAF, I'm a scientist by trade (Cancer Scientist), and I love sharing scientific articles and findings with people that can benefit from them. I can imagine there are a few people on GAF that follow the gluten-free diet. This one is for you. I tried to make this as reader-friendly as possible by splitting the news article into bullet points.

Source: Business Insider (http://www.businessinsider.com/gluten-sensitivity-and-study-replication-2014-5#ixzz3OtzZDdTA)

Background:

- Celiac Disease is an an auto-immune disorder triggered by gluten. For a while it was considered that only people with Celiac Disease should avoid gluten in their diets.

- What is Gluten? Gluten is a protein composite found in wheat, barley, and other grains. It gives bread its chewiness and is often used as a meat substitute

- Some time ago, scientists (Peter Gibson and his group) who posited the existence of a condition called "Gluten Sensitivity", in which people who do are not diagnosed to have Celiac Disease do not tolerate gluten in diets. The scientifically sound — but small — study found that gluten-containing diets can cause gastrointestinal distress in people without celiac disease.

Findings Re-evaluation: The same scientists expanded the study

- Since gluten is a protein found in any normal diet, Gibson was unsatisfied with his finding. He wanted to find out why the gluten seemed to be causing this reaction and if there could be something else going on. He therefore went to a scientifically rigorous extreme for his next experiment, a level not usually expected in nutrition studies.

- For a follow-up paper, 37 self-identified gluten-sensitive patients were tested.