• Hey, guest user. Hope you're enjoying NeoGAF! Have you considered registering for an account? Come join us and add your take to the daily discourse.

Sony Wanted to Buy Black Myth Wukong’s Studio + New Trailer Before February 1st

EDMIX

The Chinese government put a stop to those thoughts I'd guess.

Agreed. I'm willing to consider any rumor on a buyout if it makes sense as theses are wild times and anything can happen, but the moment someone starts entertaining a company buying another studio FROM ANOTHER COUNTRY, nahhhhhhhh

This is where shit gets dicey.

I'm not an expert in this by any means, but to my understanding....many countries have different laws many of which that can block another country from buying a company. I'd argue, its more likely China can buy an American game company or Japan can buy an American game company, then America can buy a Chinese or Japanese company. In America its like, we don't give a fuck lol You have money? ok.....how soon can you pay us? I was shocked when heard about some deal went thru years ago of a company in China buying an American company, but being being a fucking newb didn't know that was normal for China to do that, simply not the other way around.

So I'd believe someone if they tell me a rumor of like Tencent wants buy an American studio.

I how ever would not believe a rumor about an American company buying a studio from China. I don't know 100% how that shit works, but I do know when it goes country to country, that shit gets into a grey area lol

E Elios83 Agreed. We don't even fucking know if the game will be good, I have a hard time believing Sony would waste time with a studio they might not even be able to buy based on being in China, on a game that has never come out, based on a trailer.

That sounds......unlikely.

Last edited:

ryzen1

Is this their first game ever?
Looking at the previous acquisitions, it is very unlikely that Sony is interested in a studio that hasn't had any significant output.