• Hey, guest user. Hope you're enjoying NeoGAF! Have you considered registering for an account? Come join us and add your take to the daily discourse.

Youtube is unwatchable (if you're not on PC)

Senua

Historically I've watched youtube on my PC with adblocker and was happy as Larry. But I've found in my older, more rotund age I like to relax in the hay and watch stuff now before bed on my console box.. but OH MY FUCK the adverts are ridiculous. Constant and unskippable 20 second adverts, usually 2 in a row even in videos only a couple of minutes long. So many videos I start and barely a minute in I'm treated with another 1-2 punch of 20 second adverts of some black chick dancing around with a can of pepsi or some other retarded chode my brain rejects.

Now I'm new to the youtube app life but I can only assume this gonad kicking experience is to force you into buying premium to get a decent viewing experience. If it was a couple of squid I could probably see the appeal and even Baa along like the rest of the turds....

But £13? a fucking month?

That's Sony tier level of taking the piss.

So my question is, when did youtube get this unwatchable?

Sybrix

I know what you mean, i watch YouTube 99% of the time on my PC with adblocker.

On the rare occasion i watch on my phone or on my TV, i'm always shocked by how many ad's are all over these videos.

How the ad's are run is very American.

In the UK we have ad's before a show, 15 mins into a show and at the end of the show, thats it.

You watch American TV and they have Ad's at so many random points within a show it's horrible to watch.

Last edited:

Ironbunny

The premium lite is 6.99 $. Its not advertised anywhere. You just need to go to the right web site to activate it. Well it is atleast in some Europe countries. Dunno if it is in USA.

sono

Gold Member
You are correct, it is a mess.

I watch it on PC and PS4