• Hey, guest user. Hope you're enjoying NeoGAF! Have you considered registering for an account? Come join us and add your take to the daily discourse.

Any suggestions or criticms on this DragonBall Z movie script I'm writing?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Canon

Banned
I'm not a professional screenwriter (understatement), but I've had a fascination with a live-action DragonBall Z movie ever since I saw the show. I always thought it could be an incredible film, and evidently so did 20th Century Fox... and they gave us 2 hours of entertainment in DragonBall: Evolution. Just not in the way we would have liked.

So I decided on a whim to try giving it a go myself, since it's apparent Fox has no interest after Ben Ramsey's / James Wong's "Evolution" misfire. I firmly believe it has just as much potential as a Marvel film, but it all depends on the talent involved and the direction they decide to take.

First thing is, my attempt is based on DRAGONBALL Z. Not DragonBall as Evolution was. And just as importantly, it's based on the American version -- not that there's any major differences in the story but the terminology is different from the Japanese.

Secondly, I'm not trying to make a carbon copy of the manga because there would be no point. I'm trying to make a Hollywood style film script that condenses the major events of Dragon Ball Z to fit a blockbuster movie. Unlike Evolution however, I am going to remain faithful in its tone and scale.

Some important plot changes to keep in mind: