• Hey, guest user. Hope you're enjoying NeoGAF! Have you considered registering for an account? Come join us and add your take to the daily discourse.

DF Retro Hardware: MiSTer FPGA - A Brilliant Mini Emulation System Explored!

Bought in when the GBA and Sega CD cores released back to back and it really is the best way to play retro games. The games looks so damn good at high resolutions and there’s no lag which has always been my major issue with other forms of emulation.

Shouldn’t be too much longer for the public release of the CPS2 core. There’s even a PS1 core slowly coming together.

alienator

Best investment ever, got one for over a year now and it replaces 60% of the retro hardware in my mancave and added tons of systems i was missing.

Not that i got rid of my megadrive, snes, pcengine, neogeo, nes, gba amiga hardware, but they are museum pieces now.
Got my mister hooked up on a pvm and also on a modern screen with an ossc and the image quality is stunning.

The responsiveness and zero lag made me grab my Pi's and donated them to charity.

just kidding, that would be cruel. i hammer smashed them.

McCheese

Waku Waku 7

The NeoGeo core really opened my eyes to a couple of underrated gems, Waku Waku 7 being one of them, but Matrimelee I think is just a smidge better; or maybe I went in with lower expectations.

Check this out ^

Unfortunately, it does have the most difficult, insane, unfair and ARGSFSDJSDS!!! inducing end-game boss. It's almost like 2D fighters of that era were trying to one-up each other in the wtf-is-this-bullshit boss stakes. I went down the whole Matrimelee series rabbit hole after this and now I'm waiting on a bunch of Saturn cames to arrive from Japan. It also has some fully vocal music tracks on the stages which is so quirky and yet works so well, wish more games copied this.

Last edited:

NeoIkaruGAF

Gold Member