• Hey, guest user. Hope you're enjoying NeoGAF! Have you considered registering for an account? Come join us and add your take to the daily discourse.

Does anyone work in academia?

NecrosaroIII

Ask me about my terrible takes on Star Trek characters
I majored in History. In another life, I could have seen myself being a History professor, but I couldn't make it into grad school.

What's it like for those of you that work in a college / university setting? I have a few friends that are part time instructors. They bitch and moan about dealing with their students. But it's not their primary careers. My fantasy version is that it's a lot of work grading and prepping, but is ultimately rewarding. But I acknowledge this is probably not realistic.

- What sort of field do you work in?
- How is interactions with students?
- How are office politics?
- Do you find it fulfilling? What frustrations do you have?
- Many professors I knew worked at several schools. Do you do the same?

Ownage

I majored in History. In another life, I could have seen myself being a History professor, but I couldn't make it into grad school.

What's it like for those of you that work in a college / university setting? I have a few friends that are part time instructors. They bitch and moan about dealing with their students. But it's not their primary careers. My fantasy version is that it's a lot of work grading and prepping, but is ultimately rewarding. But I acknowledge this is probably not realistic.

- What sort of field do you work in?
- How is interactions with students?
- How are office politics?
- Do you find it fulfilling? What frustrations do you have?
- Many professors I knew worked at several schools. Do you do the same?
Ever think of teaching part time at a local community college? MA level can get you there. Different scene of students. Fewer fuckups and more folks bootstrapping.