• Hey, guest user. Hope you're enjoying NeoGAF! Have you considered registering for an account? Come join us and add your take to the daily discourse.

Dumb Revolution questions.

So,I'm not very tech savvy... please be gentle. :lol

1. with revolutions ability to download old games, could a company such as square "port " games to it like Final fantasy 7-9? I mean could revolution theoretically do that, or would that be impossible?

2. If these games are from NES, SNES,N64- and they fit on a SD card- could something be made to play that SD card on the DS?

3.And if other companies decide to go along with Nintendos' idea, what to stop them from offering the same services on PS3 and XBOX360? Is there something nintendo could do to "block"this?

Sorry if any of these have already been answered, but I don't feel like trudging through all the Revolution threads.

Gio_CoD

Banned
1.) Yes - Square could technically port any game it wanted to to the revolution and offer it for download.

2.) Yes - to a degree. The NDS could emulate Nintendo games, and could "possibly" emulate Super Nintendo games. N64 games, it could not emulate. What Nintendo could do is essentially port N64 games and a few high end SNES games to the DS infrastructure, offer them for download on the Revolution, and then you could pack them on a SD card, fit it in the potential adapter, and carry them on the go. Is this going to happen though? No. If Nintendo invested the effort into porting games to the DS, they'd just release it as a full-fledged Nintendo DS game rather than offering it on the cheap as a downloadable.

3.) There's nothing really stopping them from doing it.

Ruzbeh

Banned
3) Microsoft Game Studios (editted) didn't exist in the 80s so how can they offer retro games? :lol

Besides. They already offer very simple multiplayer arcade games for like 10 and 15 dollars each. No way NES games are going to be that expensive.