• Hey, guest user. Hope you're enjoying NeoGAF! Have you considered registering for an account? Come join us and add your take to the daily discourse.

Half Life: the story

Gamedude

Before I start playing Half Life².. can someone please tell me the Black Mesa story? I started playing Half Life SP 4-5 years ago.. I stopped playing it near the end, though.. can someone refresh the complete Half Life (1) story for me? I tried to google for some kind of fansite who wrote a little article about how the story evolved.. didn't find anything good, I found some but they were connected to Half Life².. and since I hate spoilers I didn't take the risk to spoil my hl² fun.

Gamedude

Mejilan said:
Why not just play Half Life Source? Isn't it any good?
I heared it's not a huge update compared to the original: better reflections, better water.. that's quite it.

though, there is a Half Life (1) Remake coming: Black Mesa Source (mod) but I'd like to start playing Half Life² in a few days.. it's not guaranteed that mod will be releasing soon.

Pachinko

I"m gonna assume that spoiling a storyline from a 1998 game is allright, if you haven't played the game by now and want to know its story I don't think its warrentted to use the spoiler tags.

Basically as I recall you beat the final boss and free the voritgants from slavery , and the FBI dude offers you a job with them.

The thing you really dont' find out is what happens between teh first and second game , they cut most of that stuff from the half life 2 storyline.