• Hey, guest user. Hope you're enjoying NeoGAF! Have you considered registering for an account? Come join us and add your take to the daily discourse.

Halo 2 ad campaign has begun 56k warning

BeOnEdge

Banned
i remember seeing PS? billboards MONTHS before the ps2 was released. generating tons of hype getting more and more intense up until launch. Is MS hoping for success by using the same tactics?

halo2.jpg

TekunoRobby

Tag of Excellence
I'm not a marketing expert but that type of ad is too bold to be ignored and even if people don't know what Halo is (I highly doubt that the average console gamer wouldn't know Halo, HIGHLY DOUBT) they will be further intrigued because of this ad.

TekunoRobby said:
I'm not a marketing expert but that type of ad is too bold to be ignored and even if people don't know what Halo is (I highly doubt that the average console gamer wouldn't know Halo, HIGHLY DOUBT) they will be further intrigued because of this ad.

I disagree. The ad is so generically 'alien invasion' that people may pass it over without caring.

TekunoRobby

Tag of Excellence
I was thinking that as well but maybe the overall market really digs this sort of stuff? I do see a very large trend to really play up the aliens and futuristic side of games in gaming, well marketing wise atleast.

I'm kinda at a loss because overall the ad seems really bland to me. It's very bold and aggressive with such a large font and black background but the description is lifeless.

EDIT: That's right I forgot that marketing DOES tend to have a general scheme when doing multiple shots. This is probably the beginning and in the grand scheme of things, the initial blandness will make sense.

Just striked me as doing an ad for the sake of doing an ad. It's too early to really show anything, and it's only going to excite people who are already excited for Halo2. Waste of money really. But they got money to waste so I guess they can do what they like.

pilonv1