• Hey, guest user. Hope you're enjoying NeoGAF! Have you considered registering for an account? Come join us and add your take to the daily discourse.

Has anyone studied abroad?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Seth C

Some might have seen my post from a few days ago. I just realized that, since I've yet to finish my degree, the easiest path to England may be to study there. Has anyone done this? Can you give me any advice?

Nerevar

they call me "Man Gravy".
I studied abroad in Australia for a semester, so this may not apply much at all, but just in case:

I went to a pretty pricey private school here in the states, so going abroad was fueled by 2 factors.

1) Price. It's usually cheaper to study abroad as long as you do direct-enrollment at a foreign university instead of a program (although this is usually dependent on how well your university's study abroad office is).

2) Experiencing the world outside the "ivory tower" that US universities cultivate.

Not only did I get both of those benefits, I greatly enjoyed it. I would definitely recommend doing direct enrollment. While foreign programs do greatly simplify thing, you usually end up living in a conclave of American students in a foreign atmosphere, which pretty much goes contrary to the whole "study abroad" experience (plus you pay US university rates, which suck). In my school, most students went abroad first semester of their 3rd year, but lots of students also did a whole year with a few doing a single semester their 2nd semester of 2nd or 3rd year. If you're looking to eventually live there, doing a whole year abroad is probably the best way to go.

The administrative stuff is almost always really simple. Most foreign schools of any decent caliber have a program whereby foreign students can apply for a semester or longer, and once you get accepted into one getting a visa is incredibly simple.