• Hey, guest user. Hope you're enjoying NeoGAF! Have you considered registering for an account? Come join us and add your take to the daily discourse.

Homeworld remastered free on Epic Games

Hudo

The awesome 'Homeworld' Yes song in the credits was removed. Boo!!
Fuck, man. Probably because licensing. But still crap. Even moreso when you know that Yes actually did that song specifically for Homeworld, because they liked what Relic were doing.

Edit: Also: Get it, folks! It's one of the best RTS games ever made. It's certainly in my top 5 RTS games of all time.
Shame that they never got to remaster Cataclysm/Emergence because they lost the source code (apparently). It's a really interesting take on sci-fi horror in the Homeworld universe.

Last edited:

Red5

I've been playing Homeworld on and off since 1999. The way the ships are designed, the sci fi art, got me into concept art and 3D modelling.

Randy Pitchford maybe a douche, but him reviving this franchise and expanding it might be the only good thing he's ever done.

Last edited:

Hudo

I've been playing Homeworld on and off since 1999. The way the ships are designed, the sci fi art, got me into concept art and 3D modelling.

Randy Pitchford maybe a douche, but him reviving this franchise and expanding might be the only good thing he's ever done.
I also appreciate Gearbox giving BlackBird the time to finish Homeworld 3. It's been in development for quite some time now.

Red5

I also appreciate Gearbox giving BlackBird the time to finish Homeworld 3. It's been in development for quite some time now.

Yep, I'm also hoping they do another ground RTS version similar to Deserts of Kharak or maybe a Space Sim. Homeworld universe is very intriguing and yet criminally under explored.

Dr.D00p

Only Bad thing I have to say about the games is the sudden difficulty brick wall that kicks in with the later missions.

If you have to stop and think about what to do next...game over