• Hey, guest user. Hope you're enjoying NeoGAF! Have you considered registering for an account? Come join us and add your take to the daily discourse.

How many games per month - what is a good lineup?

Keio

For a Finer World
After reading the EGM E3 thread I was left wondering what people really want.

How many good games should a system get per month?

Having suddenly fallen ill and facing half a years sick leave, I realized that without the impetus of having to review games, I've been playing for the first two months with the speed of one game per month plus UT2K4 on the side.

Is there actually massive oversupply on every gaming platform?

cuccoo

I play like 2-3 new games a month, even though I buy like 4-5/month. So this leads to massive backlog that will keep growing.

and to answer your question. yes there is too much supply of games, though publishers are smart enough to produce small quantity for shitty titles.

AniHawk

It depends on people's tastes. For me, there's enough on the GC to have a game per month for the rest of the year, nothing on the GBA, a couple games on the Xbox, and a bit on the PS2 towards the end of the year.

I think a game a month is good. Otherwise it could get too "crowded," and the backlog just grows and grows.

Right now I have a nice collection of games for the current systems. This makes more than one or two good games a month unimportant to me. I can still go back and have a lot of fun playing stuff like Halo, Ninja Gaiden, Metroid, Mario, Zelda, Ratchet and Clank: GC etc.

I feel a little uneasy about so many great games coming out all at once later this year. I think a couple of killer titles which might otherwise have been hits will have to totally flop because of the dearth of quality so densely diffused around the hollidays.