• Hey, guest user. Hope you're enjoying NeoGAF! Have you considered registering for an account? Come join us and add your take to the daily discourse.

I'm New To The New Final Fantasy

I love Final Fantasy but the last one I played was probably Final Fantasy XIII-2. I've never played any of the MMO games or anything past the 13th installment.

From what I'm noticing about Final Fantasy now, it seems they favor lots of action as compared to turn based. Final Fantasy VII Remake and Final Fantasy XV seems to feature an all new type of gameplay.

So are they basically like Devil May Cry meets role playing? I know it looks like the remake has lots of action that would be more in style to DMC.

I love action melee games like DMC and I think mixing it with role playing sounds very interesting. Not having played any of these newer Final Fantasy games, do you think I would enjoy the way combat is involved? Are there any old school Final Fantasy fans here that don't like the direction it's going?

x1
In response to your last question, I'm an old school Final Fantasy fan and while I don't particularly enjoy direction the series is going I still enjoy the game.

That is pertaining to not just the action elements but streamlining of a lot of the more RPG components of the games. Final Fantasy to me never had massive depth or anything but it always had (to some extent whether it be jobs, EQ to learn skills) some flexibility in terms of character equipment or how you learn abilities and whatnot though it varied from game to game.

In terms of combat I think that the Remake recently released is a much better direction because it retains the party element and it feels more strategic to me to try to combine the value of three distinct members, though I don't have any problem with the way it's done in XVI. It's still fun it's just not what I would have wanted if I were asked.

Draugoth

Gold Member