• Hey, guest user. Hope you're enjoying NeoGAF! Have you considered registering for an account? Come join us and add your take to the daily discourse.

How do you guys feel about the trend of removing japanese songs from games?

KàIRóS

I recently started playing Fire Emblem Engage and the cringe AF english intro gave me the idea for this thread, this isn't the first time a japanese song has been removed, it's a very annoying trend IMO that has happend for a very long time and to be fair FE:E at least went for a dub, even though the result sounds worse than a 90s english anime OP.

But FE:E is far from being the worst offender here, take the Megaman 8 OP for example listen to the japanese OP and then the english one, bro wtf? the japanese song sounds amazing and it even flows rhytmically with the animation, it's like night and day! what was capcom thinking on this one?

However even worse than changing the music altogether is not changing it but esentially giving us a shittier instrumental version like for example in Tales of Zestiria, it's almost like the devs are laughing at us with this one "you almost got the song this time lol"

Like I don't get it, isn't it cheaper and a better alternative to just slap subtitles to the japanese songs?

Last edited:
I recently started playing Fire Emblem Engage and the cringe AF english intro gave me the idea for this thread, this isn't the first time a japanese song has been removed, it's a very annoying trend IMO that has happend for a very long time and to be fair FE:E at least went for a dub, even though the result sounds worse than a 90s english anime OP.

But FE:E is far from being the worst offender here, take the Megaman 8 OP for example listen to the japanese OP and then the english one, bro wtf? the japanese song sounds amazing and it even flows rhytmically with the animation, it's like night and day! what was capcom thinking on this one?