• Hey, guest user. Hope you're enjoying NeoGAF! Have you considered registering for an account? Come join us and add your take to the daily discourse.

"it's Poke Eh mon, not Poke EE mon!” Video Game Terms, Words and Names that you've pronounced incorrectly

Back in the 90s and before youtube we really didn't have a place were we could talk about games vocally other than local conversation. Of course that's changed today.

What are some video game terminology and how did you pronounce them over the year?

lachesis

Wolfenstein.
I go with "wolf", not "volf"... Just found out a little while ago, when I watched DF. I've been calling it "Wolf"enstein for several decades now.

Same goes to UBI soft.
I've been calling it You - Bee - Ai soft, not You-Bee soft.

Wunray

Heathen, it's po kay mon not whatever's in the title.
barack obama president GIF

lachesis

It's You-be-soft. The root of Ubi is ubiquitous, as in "ubiquitous software."

Listen to the founder himself pronounce the word:

French accent is optional.

I know that now - I think it's because first time I "saw" the name was back in 95 on one of the videogame magazines (EGM or NextGen, probably) ... I think it was the original Rayman.
If I heard the name first, I probably didn't think of it - but 1995 was way before the days of Youtube.. :)

harmny

Banned
It's You-be-soft. The root of Ubi is ubiquitous, as in "ubiquitous software."

Listen to the founder himself pronounce the word:

French accent is optional.

it's oo bisoft in the original language. french.

yves pronounced it you bi soft becase he was talking in english.

at the end of the day it doesn't matter but we are in this thread so...

Last edited:

Soodanim

Gold Member
Or is it Poke-uh-mon?

Anyone who says Merry-Oh should be shot on sight.
Who on Earth says Merry-Oh? I say Marry-Oh, as in how it's pronounced at the start of Mario 64 with the accent taken away and replaced with a Southern English one.