• Hey, guest user. Hope you're enjoying NeoGAF! Have you considered registering for an account? Come join us and add your take to the daily discourse.

Kamiya talks about the ending of Bayonetta 3 and casually confirms there will be a Bayonetta 4

IbizaPocholo

NeoGAFs Kent Brockman

Hideki Kamiya on the future of the Bayonetta universe​

IGN: Bayonetta became your longest-running series. How do you feel about it now?

Kamiya: "The Bayonetta series has gone on for 13 whole years now. This is my first time ever being involved with an IP for this long. I've been involved in the games not only as a director, but I write their stories and oversee their creation in general, so I feel like I've been able to defend and maintain the overall world of Bayonetta in my own way.

"One of our most basic values at PlatinumGames is that we make games for players. However, I've started to notice that as a series like Bayonetta and other game series go on, what players want has started to diverge from what its developers are putting out. Even then, we can't just add whatever a simple majority of players want into our games. I've always believed that developers need to have their own convictions as creators when they make games, but I've started to feel that more than ever."

IGN: Where do these differences between players and creators show up?

Kamiya: "You see it when it comes to story, and there are lots of opinions even regarding a game's mechanics. Taking the Bayonetta IP as an example, while I have a structure in mind for where the story is going to go far into the future, players are only able to pass judgment on the story that they have at the moment. They'll say things like the series is going to end because the creators have no love for it. I want people to know that's obviously not how it is. I love Bayonetta more than anyone. How could I not love Cereza and all the other characters I've fostered for this long?"