• Hey, guest user. Hope you're enjoying NeoGAF! Have you considered registering for an account? Come join us and add your take to the daily discourse.

Mark Millar chats WOLVERINE w/preview art.

Status
Not open for further replies.

nomoment

http://newsarama.com/forums/showthread.php?s=&threadid=16109

Gorgeous stuff. Romita Jr. is still one of the best in the biz.

jrjrWolverine4.jpg

sorry, never understood the love for Romita, Jr.

He's a hack. Plain and simple, his anatomy is lacking, his faces lack any sense of uniqueness among themselves. Hell, his female figures aren't even remotely attractive. Mary Jane or Jean Gray with square jaws?

Yes, I am an artist myself. Have been for as long as I can remember, but at least I'm trying to always evolve my style and add something to it. In his case it's always been status quo.

He may have a good mind and eye for composure, but his penciling is not good at all.

Perhaps he should stick with layout and let someone of a higher caliber (or -bur don't know, it's late for me and I'm tired), someone with a detail level of a Jim Lee, Michael Turner, hell even someone like Joe Madureria (sp?) but lacking the composition skills of those three would do. As it stands... sorry, hate it. His work on spidey killed the book for me and will kill my interest in Wolverine until he's off of it.

I know, I know, it's about the story, yadda yadda.

Don't care, I hate his "art", it's distracting to my (and a quite a few others) eye.

In my opinion, if it weren't for who his father is (a certified LEGEND), I doubt he'd even get a sniff at Marvel or DC.

As Dennis Miller said, it's just my opinion... I could be wrong.

lordmrw

While his father might have been the one to get him in the industry, it was his talent and skill that has kept him high profile in the industry for the past almost 30 years. You might not like his art, but calling him a hack is just plain wrong.

Future Trunks