• Hey, guest user. Hope you're enjoying NeoGAF! Have you considered registering for an account? Come join us and add your take to the daily discourse.

Wtf America, turkey sucks

Papa

Banned
Turkey isn't really a thing in Australia but I know you cunts do it every year for Thanksgiving, and I'm a pretty keen cook, so I decided to give it a go. Got a 5 kg bird, brined it for 12 hours, stuffed it with a mix of blitzed up old sourdough, onion and sage, slid a stick of butter under the skin of each breast, smoked it for 5 hours while basting with melted butter every 45 minutes until the internal temp was 65C (149F), then gave it 20 mins in the oven at a high heat to crisp up. Final internal temp after resting was 75C (167F). I believe I did everything right -- the meat was relatively juicy and the skin was crispy but there was just no fucking flavour. What is the point of this stupid bird? Why not just eat chicken?

Last edited:

finowns

Got to brine it. Although we never do it for thanksgiving.

I do get a portion of turkey breast at the super market and it’s always good.

Maiden Voyage

Gold™ Member
That's why we only feed it to our dogs and welfare recipients

Say that to my face
iu

poodaddy

Nah. My wife's turkey is the shit dude. I literally feel like someone has to pull me away from it to stop eating. Chicken doesn't compare on any level to the flavor of dark meat turkey, I feel like I'm on crazy pills just trying to imagine how someone could think chicken is better.

Think ya got a bad bird OP.