• Hey, guest user. Hope you're enjoying NeoGAF! Have you considered registering for an account? Come join us and add your take to the daily discourse.

Hot Take: Graphics have completely stagnated since 2019

Graphics peaked with The Order 1886

286123-2051289-718917_20130820_004.jpg

"graphics peaked with Leonardo Da Vinci"

HathYLd.jpg

Jesb

The next gen feature for this gen has been GeForcenow. I just recently joined the ultimate tier and just loving it. It’s not without some issues, but if the library keeps growing a lot there’s no need for anything else for me.

Robb

Gold Member
Hard to tell, to me it feels more like a money issue - but I’m no tech expert by any means. It just seems like it’s too expensive to make cutting edge stuff now, so devs don’t.

We’ve already seen stuff like the Matrix UE5 Demo being playable. That stuff looked incredible.

So it’s obviously possible to push things way further. But instead we’re getting poor looking GAAS titles designed only to squeeze as much money out of whales as possible.

Jakk

Eh, nah. You'll get plenty of graphical advancements on consoles. No matter what folks tell themselves, the best looking games this gen could not have been done on last gen hardware without significant compromise.

And even with $800+ graphics cards, you aren't seeing the kind of advancement, relative to that amount, that you think you are. It can be done on consoles, you'll just pay a performance price for it. It's a resource allocation, not a hardware limitation.

No game is taking advantage of even my 3090 Ti, let alone a 4090 and better. It's not happening. I want people to understand this. Those cards are capable of far, far, far more than you've been getting.

What they do allow for, however, is better framerates and that's the biggest advantage. But, as long as consoles have the presence, share, and mass pricing accessibility that they do, your shiny PC graphics card will never, ever have its parts truly exploited and put to use.