• Hey, guest user. Hope you're enjoying NeoGAF! Have you considered registering for an account? Come join us and add your take to the daily discourse.

In 2017, installing printer is finally no longer a headache.

bman94

I just a HP printer from Best Buy because of their sale. I'm a teacher so It gets annoying to go out to fed ex to make a bunch a copies even if it's just something small like 60 or so pages. I got a new one cause my old wireless printer (a Canon) stopped working wirelessly and butchers anything that has color now.

Holy shit I'm so surprised how easy it was to install this new printer. I remember with the Canon and some other wireless printers I've had in the past it was a huge hassle to get it to connect with the wireless network, it constantly being dropped from the wireless network, having to put in the long passcode for the network over and over and over again...

All there is now is a link to the website, just download a general installer, it finds your printer automatically through the software, sends a test print and starts installing the drivers right away. It even gave me a email address so I can print shit when I'm away to the printer. Shits fucking dope.

Even non-wireless printers was a huge headache in the past. With printers taking forever to install drivers and software. CD's sometimes just crashing the software and having to install all over again, USB sometimes not reading the printer, some printers just flat out not including the USB necessary etc. It's kinda cool we are at the point where it can easily print off of mobile devices as well.

This sounds like the most fuck you consumer thing ever, but I'm slightly tempted at it, they actually have a fucking subscription service for HP that you pay tiered pricing and the printer senses when you are running low on ink, sends a message to HP or whatever and they send you new ink cartridges to your home. It's a bit unsettling to think about but sounds super convenient.