• Hey, guest user. Hope you're enjoying NeoGAF! Have you considered registering for an account? Come join us and add your take to the daily discourse.

'MUST HAVE' Rythem Games?

Bored the otherday, I decided to go through my gaming library and play some old titles. I started playing Frequency, Amplitude, and Guitaro Man once again...and fell in love.

I know the fellows at Harmonix are working on a new title.

But now that I've been re-infected with the bug I want to try my hand at other great titles that I've missed. I'm looking for a list of MUST HAVE 'all time' great Rhythm games. I wanna explore the genre. Any game released from PS1 up.

I'm looking to learn about games like: Parappa the rappa, DDR, Samba de Amigo and others I've never even heard of.

So GA...where do I start?

DDayton

(more a nerd than a geek)
Space Channel 5 is an interesting title.

(Ok, what is the story behind "Space Michael", anyway?)

Gattsu25

Banned
uh...you mean...MUSIC games?

quick list from my collection:
Um Jammer Lammy
Rez (getting stoned is a prerequisite to playing)
Samba de Amigo (NEED the special controller and MUST be played with at least 4 friends rotating turns...awesome game)

you've already played the other ones I own...try out Space Channel 5 (part 1 and 2)...I didn't like them...at all...but you might :b

DavidDayton said:
Space Channel 5 is an interesting title.

(Ok, what is the story behind "Space Michael", anyway?)

Didn't they have a budget release recently too. It was like the original and the sequel on one disc for twenty bucks. Would that the best version to get?

Kiriku

SWEDISH PERFECTION
Guitar Freaks series (PS1/PS2)
Dance Dance Revolution series (N64/PS1/DC/PS2/XBOX)
Technic Beat (PS2)
Pop 'n Music (PS1/DC/PS2)
Bust-a-Move/Bust-a-Groove series (PS1/PS2)
Umjammer Lammy (PS1)

demi

Bust a Groove

hiro_heat.jpg

Tsubaki

PSX: