• Hey, guest user. Hope you're enjoying NeoGAF! Have you considered registering for an account? Come join us and add your take to the daily discourse.

riddick vs shenmue. WTF?

BeOnEdge

Banned
after finishing riddick, hell, as soon as i started playing riddick i though "this is just like shenmue!" the pace and feel of the running around, the NPCs and the dialogue, the side quests, the fighting, even the mini games. the major differences were the language and the weapons. Riddick may as well be a part of the F.R.E.E. genre. After finishing riddick, i want another game like it and the only other place to get it is shenmue and 3 needs to be officially announced. I dont care if its a launch/holiday title for next gen. Anyway, why is it that so many people were so willing to give riddick a chance and fall in love with it yet wont even give shenmue a chance even though it feels the same?

DopeyFish

Not bitter, just unsweetened
BeOnEdge said:
its not really better at all. in fact i'd say they're equals mainly because shenmue is longer.

well when you get lost for hours at a time, of course it's longer.

Bebpo

Banned
DopeyFish said:
well when you get lost for hours at a time, of course it's longer.

???

Shenmue was pretty linear and none of the cities were that big. I'd never heard of anyone getting lost in it until now :\

retardboy

Haha, serious... I don't think I ever really got lost (Atleast not for long)... Not even in Shenmue 2 when the cities were larger.

DopeyFish

Not bitter, just unsweetened
retardboy said:
Haha, serious... I don't think I ever really got lost (Atleast not for long)... Not even in Shenmue 2 when the cities were larger.

it's what happens when you get bored less than a sentence into one of several monotonous voice actors pieces. Gah "Hey Ryo, so you're staying at this ho --- -- -- -- -- -- -- --- --- --" ;)

I loved Shenmue 1 and 2 but reallty Riddick has much better pacing and action. LOTS MORE ACTION!