• Hey, guest user. Hope you're enjoying NeoGAF! Have you considered registering for an account? Come join us and add your take to the daily discourse.

The most overplayed story trope - How many cases of video game amnesia can we name?

Vawn

Banned
If you play enough video games, you would think amnesia is as common as getting a cold.

Rules - Name ONE character from a video game who suffers or once suffered from amnesia. Feel free to name another after at least one other person has posted another.

I'll start us off -

Final Fantasy XIV - Cid / Marques

latest

I get why it's used so often, fish out of water is the perfect way to justify constant exposition about the world of the game and how it works. This is true of all forms of media. As an author myself I find myself often wanting to go the amnesia trope. In fantasy worlds you don't always need it, you can do the whole "everything from back then was forgotten" thing. But it's weird having a character who knows all they need to know right off the bat.

Sejan

I groan a bit when I see amnesia brought up, but it would just be awkward to explain basic facts of life to a character that should obviously know these things. Lore heavy games desperately need someone to explain things to. Otherwise, these games are talking to the player directly for exposition.

The amnesiac, inquisitive kid, time traveller, and really dumb character that needs everything spelled out are here to stay.

If you don’t have someone like this, you’ll get stuck with an over attentive companion or a know-it-all character.

My submission in Rune Factory 4
The character starts with his memory, but loses it shortly after taking control of the character.

Stella Glow's Protag is...half Amnesia and half Ressurection.

Does Mario count? Bowser seems to always kidnap Peach forgetting how he is beaten by Mario so many times. Even Donkey Kong only challenged Mario once before retiring.

Last edited:

Boss Mog