• Hey, guest user. Hope you're enjoying NeoGAF! Have you considered registering for an account? Come join us and add your take to the daily discourse.

Do you have a VR headset? Will you ever buy one?

Do you have a VR headset?

• Total voters

SiahWester

Okay, GAF. I'm curious how people on here feel about VR. There's a semi active thread for the Quest, but I want to see how the rest of the forum feels about VR.

Do you have a VR headset? When did you get into VR? How frequently do you use your headset and what do you play or do in it? If you don't have a VR headset, why not?

-----

I've been gaming in VR since 2016 with the Gear VR. I've only owned Oculus/Meta headsets. I've also owned the Rift S, Quest 2, and now Quest 3 headsets. They've just always offered the best bang for the buck and have a better ecosystem. I know other headsets have their pros as well. I'm not at all a fanboy.

I lost interest in VR after the first year with the Quest 2. It just collected dust. Didn't like feeling closed in and the blurriness of visuals. The experience was simply uncomfortable and the software launches started to slow down. I got the Quest 3 at launch about six months ago. After many QA issues, I finally got a good headset. I thought of it as a decent upgrade from the Quest 2, but lately it's starting to feel so much more fleshed out.

I think the average Quest user has no idea of the capabilities of this thing. If you can tinker then there's endless use cases for the Quest 3. The resolution and clarity is amazing. You can see pixels if you really look, but 99% of the time it doesn't register in my brain. It's so good I prefer to use it to play flat games now. Using virtual desktop with WiFi 6 I can play games wirelessly with almost no latency in an imax or I can have a massive screen projected in my room right on the ceiling while laying down.