• Hey, guest user. Hope you're enjoying NeoGAF! Have you considered registering for an account? Come join us and add your take to the daily discourse.

I had a stroke.

Status
Not open for further replies.
Or: I had a stroke in my mid-20's and it can happen to you. Also PSA: for the love of fuck sign up for Health Insurance.

Be warned: My story is a long one with many twists and turns. The above could be considered the condensed TL/DR version though I encourage you to read about the whole fucked up affair. I'll try to break it up and make it easy to follow so that it isn't just a wall of text. Apologies in advance for spelling, punctuation, grammatical, and all other mistakes I make with the English language. I'm going to blame this on the fact that I had a stroke (and just took a Vicodin) and not on the real reason which is that I'm a shit writer who has a hard time retaining the fundamentals.

The Initial Event: Work

It all started while I was work the day before Thanksgiving. I was sitting at my desk looking at my phone and I felt a twinge of pain in the back of my neck. I thought maybe I just twisted it wrong or craned it in an odd way since the pain didn't start out too intense. That would change as my shift progressed. The pain in the back of my neck went from dull ache to intense, somewhat terrifying ache over the course of the next few hours. I took some Naproxen. It didn't put a dent in my pain.