• Hey, guest user. Hope you're enjoying NeoGAF! Have you considered registering for an account? Come join us and add your take to the daily discourse.

"I'm new to PC games, what should I get..."

DocSeuss

I'm not great at thread titles.

Ya'll have probably heard this before. Someone comes along, new/returning to PC gaming, and they want to know what they should play. Nine times out of ten, they get some pretty boilerplate responses:

Valve stuff, Blizzard stuff, Tripwire's games, League, Binding of Isaac, The Witcher 2, Civ 4 or 5... and that's all well and good, but for the sake of discussion, let's pretend someone's just told you they're new to PC games, and when you make these suggestions, they go "yeah, yeah, yeah, I already know about those, and I'm not interested. What else you got?"

What do you say then? To make it a bit easier, let's go with stuff that's PC exclusive or PC primary--meaning, it might be on consoles, but it might as well not be, since sales/playerbase/whatever is abysmal. So no Dark Souls, in other words, because everyone already knows about that, but Sanctum 2 or Tropico 5 would count.

Basically, what computer games would you recommend beyond the titles everyone recommends?

Me, I'm likely to run with these:

STALKER

I've talked before about how the game saved my life. I owe it a lot. Plus, the series is a great introduction to games we don't normally see on consoles: janky European video games. It's one of the most atmospheric games of all time, one of the smartest gaming experiences in existence, and there's nothing else like it in existence out there.

Orcs Must Die 2

I don't know why I enjoy Orcs Must Die 2. There's just something awesome about its cool action/tower defense hybrid that makes it super duper fun. Plus, traps are way cooler than towers, the humor's solid, solving levels is a blast... crap, I'm talking myself into going back and playing it. Plus, I mean, 2-player co-op. Always awesome.

Tropico 4