• Hey, guest user. Hope you're enjoying NeoGAF! Have you considered registering for an account? Come join us and add your take to the daily discourse.

Unpopular opinion (?): Doom Eternal is much less fun than 2016

RoadHazard

Gold Member
So a few years ago (but several years after it was released) I played Doom 2016, and had a great time. Nothing too deep or all that memorable, but it was a very fun, action-filled romp.

Recently I started playing Eternal, and for some reason I'm not having nearly as much fun. I can't quite put my finger on why. Maybe it's the added "fluff" with the ship and all the stuff to unlock, maybe it's how they've changed the combat to require more careful weapon usage instead of just mindlessly blasting your way through everything, maybe it's that it feels like just arena after arena of enemies to clear (but I think the last game was a lot like that too).

I'm not sure, but about a third through the game (I think) I just thought "nah, I'm not gonna spend more time on this". So I quit and started playing Kena instead, and I'm having 10x more fun with that.

Last edited:

clarky

Gold Member
Nah im with you on this one. Loved 2016. Whilst I appreciate they tried to evolve the formula somewhat I preferred the more simplistic combat in the 2016 reboot. I didn't get very far in Eternal, although I can also see why some might prefer it.

Shit was near perfect as is.

Last edited:

Mr Reasonable

Completely Unreasonable
Oh god, not another topic where everyone who says they liked Doom Eternal best (like me) comes in to say that Doom Eternal is one of the best shooters of all time, while people who liked Doom 2016 best come in and say they liked that game better and then probably something like "I kept running out of ammo?!"

This is how it goes every time.