• Hey, guest user. Hope you're enjoying NeoGAF! Have you considered registering for an account? Come join us and add your take to the daily discourse.

Wow, console gaming is fantastic!

keraj37

I have been playing only on PC since mid 90s, starting with my amiga 500.
I always looked away from console market, for as a programmer I always preferred open system, where I can entertain myself and work.

But I must say that 2k made me buy entry level xbox series s, only so I can play NBA 2k21 Next Gen.
But along the side I also reminded myself that in late 90s I played NHL games which I loved and didn't have possibility to play sports games like this since.
So I bought NBA 2k21 and NHL 21.
But also other games and I plan to buy FIFA 21 Next Gen.

20210107-215222.jpg

The reason I made this thread is to share my hardcore PC gamer's view on advantages of console gaming:

1. Great sports games that are not on PC (I know they could be from technical point of view but lets just drop it here)
2. Closed system preventing cheating (this is my first NBA 2k that I am not using, ekhm, 'mods', and I love that I need to play by the rules)
3. Closed system focused entirely on gaming, making you feel you are in World of entertainment, and entertainment only.
4. As a PC gamer I am discovering many new games, that I wouldn't install on my PC or they are simply not available on PC to start with.
5. Those little things, like the sounds of UI or sound of booting the xbox 360 system through BC gives me unknown to this day vibes.

Ending, I want to say, I am in - I am console gamer now, I am enjoying myself a lot!

godhandiscen

There are millions of whiny 5-year olds on Earth, and I AM THEIR KING.
Is there a breakdown of sales between the XSX and XSS. There was a thread a while ago of another GAF member buying a XSS. Maybe it is a real hit.

keraj37