• Hey, guest user. Hope you're enjoying NeoGAF! Have you considered registering for an account? Come join us and add your take to the daily discourse.

Microsoft buying square enix? Probably nonsense

Status
Not open for further replies.

mdkirby

How can I get this thread closed? it’s pretty clear the rumours are from an absolute charlatan engagement farmer, who I’d rather not be given any more oxygen 🤦‍♂️😂

Let’s expand the language barrier for MS’ internal management over its studios.

Btw, complete nonsense. If MS wants to go after Japanese publishers, Capcom is the entity to pursue, IMO. But Japan has calcified its resistance to outside ownership after SNK went to bed with MBS.

Last edited:

Buggy Loop

Square just shot themselves in the foot.
I don't know how much the rest of you know about Japanese culture (I'm an expert), but honor and shame are huge parts of it. It's not like it is in America where you can become successful by being an asshole. If you screw someone over in Japan, you bring shame to yourself, and the only way to get rid of that shame is repentance.
What this means is the japanese public, after hearing about this, is not going to want to purchase FFXVII for either system, nor will they purchase any of Square's games. This is HUGE. You can laugh all you want, but Square has alienated an entire market with this move.
Square, publicly apologize and cancel FFXVII for Xbox or you can kiss your business goodbye

xxZkZ8O.jpg

Microsoft's overambitious buying streak buying was one major contributing factor of their current problems with the Xbox brand and the switch to becoming a multi platform publisher, so I don't see why they would want to buy even more studios right now, esp. in the current economic climate.

adamsapple

Or is it just one of Phil's balls in my throat?
And Sega.

I wish this would happen just so people could understand that Microsoft buying all these companies isn't going to change anything.